UVB10041 – Hedgehoppers Anonymus – Complete Collection


In Stock

Posted in .

This is a compilation of the complete DECCA recordings + one ultra-rare South African-only LP by HEDGEHOPPER S ANONYMOUS. Very little is known about the group. Most reference books simply state that they had been founded around Leighton, Buzzard in 1963 by a bunch of former Royal Air Force members (hence the name). The first line-up was MICK TINSLEY (voc), JOHN STEWART (ld), ALAN LADD (rh), RAY HONEYBALL (b) and LESLIE ASH (dr). From September 1965 until December 1966 five singles on DECCA were released, most of them written and/or produced by JONATHAN KING. Their first one “It is good news week” was their only hit in the UK (No.5), though the self-written “Daytime” was excellently covered a couple of months later not only in English language but also in French and Italian by Frenchmen LES 5 GENTLEMEN (or DARWIN S THEORY as they were renamed for UK-release). The HEDGEHOPPER S by then had already lost HONEYBALL and ASH in December 1965, being replaced by KEITH JACKSON and GLEN MARTIN on bass and drums respectively. Shortly after the final DECCA outing “Stop press” (12/66) the group disbanded. Still signed to his old record company MICK TINSLEY released one uninteresting solo single in 1967 “Let it be me”. Some HEDGEHOPPER S are said to be connected to ALAN AVON & THE TOYSHOP (one 7″ in 1970 on CONCORD), but this hasnt been confirmed yet. What is for certain is that some members reappeared in South Africa, making some records for CBS in the early 1970s, most of these collected for the first time ever here on this CD. Mainly known for the JONATHAN KING involvement and the RAF gimmick, HEDGEHOPPER S ANONYMOUS made some highly enjoyable Beat fare in the mid 1960s and a very worthwhile album. Take a listen!

Syd Kreft
1. It is Good News Week (J. King)
2. Afraid Of Love (J. King)
3. Don t Push Me (J. King)
4. Please Don t Hurt Your Heart For ME (J. King)
5. Baby (You─║re Everything) (Spain-Williams)
6. Remember (J. King)
7. Stop Press (J. King)
8. That is The Time (J. King)
9. Little Memories (Lythgoe-Allen- Walton)
10. Daytime (Fredenucci-Stewart-Saunders)
11. That is The Time (J. King)
12. Hey (M. Matthews)
13. Rock And Roll Woman (Stils)
14. A song For Pete (M. Matthews)
15. You Bet I will Know Better (M. Matthews)
16. Caroline (M. Matthews)
17. She Has Been Hurt (M. Matthews)
18. Summertime (Gershwin)
19. Near Her (M. Matthews)
20. I am Going Thataway (M. Matthews)
21. Brother Where Are You (Brown)


There are no reviews yet, would you like to submit yours?

Be the first to review “UVB10041 - Hedgehoppers Anonymus - Complete Collection”